Citizen of the Year and Unsung Heroes 2016

Celebrating people: Committee selects Unsung Heroes


It takes a committee to choose Unsung Heroes. Since 2001, The Taos News has called upon community members to nominate people who make positive contributions, but never for the accolades. Citizen of the Year and Unsung Heroes continue to be the silent pillars of Taos, little known but not taken for granted.

With a focus group of 10, The Taos News depends on them to nominate candidates and then vote on the final selections. The 2016 Tradiciones Selection Committee included Jim Fambro, Marilyn Farrow, Mary Ellen Ferguson, Esther Garcia, Stella Mares-McGinnis, Kathleen Michaels, Joseph Quintana Jamie Tedesco, Mike Trujillo and Barb Wiard.

Process overseers included publisher Chris Baker, editor Damon Scott, advertising manager Chris Wood and special sections editor Scott Gerdes. No employees were involved in the selection process nor did we influence any votes. The paper's management staff, however, did make the final selection for Citizen of the Year from a list of nominees presented by the committee.

The Taos News staff sincerely thanks the 2016 Tradiciones Selection Committee for their time and energy in making this annual series possible — and for bringing so many deserving heroes to light.