Town officials sworn in


Winners of the 2018 town of Taos election took their oaths of office Thursday (March 8) during a special council meeting at the council chambers.

Mayor Dan Barrone was sworn into his position for a second term by Municipal Judge Richard Chavez who also took his oath after an unopposed election and winning his position for his eighth term.

Councilors George 'Fritz' Hahn and Pascualito Maestas also were sworn in Thursday. Hahn retains his seat on the council after the election and Maestas will take the seat of former Council Member Judi Cantu. As a new council member, Maestas said he is going to take some time to learn the process and get the feel for being a town councilor.

All four elected officials will serve four-year terms in their positions.